Binance Users In Some European Countries Told To Pull Crypto Before Fees Kick In, With Accounts Closing By Year End
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Binance says it is restricting services for some European customers, with fees on remaining crypto balances starting Nov. 29 and affected accounts due to close Dec. 31, 2026. Deposits are blocked, but the company says withdrawals remain available; the changes are linked to its EU authorization status under MiCA.

Binance has told some customers in Europe to withdraw their crypto and fiat before monthly charges on remaining crypto begin Nov. 29, with affected accounts scheduled to close on Dec. 31, 2026. The exchange says deposits have been blocked but withdrawals remain available, as it restricts services following the end of the transition period under the European Union’s Markets in Crypto-Assets rules, known as MiCA.

Emails shared by users and described in a Nov. 7 report by CoinDesk set out the withdrawal and closure dates. Binance customers in France, Spain, Italy and Poland have reported receiving notices. Binance told CoinDesk that it is “progressively restricting certain services for affected users” and described the account closures as a carefully managed process.

From Nov. 29, the notices say Binance will charge 0.025% of a remaining crypto balance per month, or 10 USDC, whichever is higher. The first charge is due within three days of that date, and a second charge after Dec. 24. The email says fees will be taken from USDC holdings first, then other crypto if needed. If an account holds less than the fee, the notice says its entire remaining balance may be taken.

Binance says customers can still withdraw crypto and fiat, and that their assets remain safe and accessible, with “no sudden freeze.” The company said accounts remaining open after Dec. 31 will be treated as inactive, which may result in assets being converted or transferred. It has not specified in the material reported by CoinDesk how those later actions would work in each case.

At a glance
updateWhen: Notices reported Nov. 7, 2026; fees beg…
The developmentBinance has notified some European customers that monthly charges on remaining crypto balances begin Nov. 29 and affected accounts will close on Dec. 31.
Crypto market snapshot
Fear & Greed Index
28/100 — Fear
Bitcoin BTC$75,795▼ 0.2%
Ethereum ETH$2,234▼ 0.3%
Tether USDT$0.999▼ 0.0%
BNB BNB$697.47▲ 0.5%
XRP XRP$1.16▼ 0.6%
USDC USDC$0.9996▼ 0.0%
Solana SOL$89.08▼ 1.0%
TRON TRX$0.3201▲ 0.5%
Live data · CoinGecko · alternative.me (24h change)

Deadlines Put Remaining Balances at Risk

The notice gives affected customers a defined period to move funds before monthly charges begin and the exchange’s planned year-end closure. For people who do not see the email, cannot withdraw before the deadline, or leave small balances behind, the stated minimum fee could consume a balance worth less than 10 USDC. The email also warns that assets remaining after account closure may be converted or transferred, although the precise process is not detailed in the report.

The broader issue is whether Binance can continue serving customers across the EU under the bloc’s MiCA authorization framework. The company’s service restrictions may affect customers beyond the countries whose users have reported receiving direct notices. The source report says people in countries without a singled-out local entity remain subject to broader EU restrictions, so the reported list of notices should not be treated as a complete account of who could be affected.

Products Worth Considering

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

MiCA Authorization Shapes Binance’s EU Services

MiCA requires crypto-asset service providers to obtain authorization in an EU member state to serve customers across the bloc. Binance told CoinDesk that the restrictions follow the end of MiCA’s transition period. The report says Binance still did not appear in the European Securities and Markets Authority’s register of authorized crypto providers as of Nov. 7.

Binance withdrew an application for a Greek MiCA license in June and said it intended to seek authorization in another EU country, without naming that country. In France, the financial regulator, the Autorité des marchés financiers, lists Binance France’s registration as having automatically lapsed on July 2, 2026, when France’s national registration regime ended. The report says more than 50 providers without MiCA licenses were removed from that register at the time.

Binance first contacted users in France, Spain, Italy and Poland in June, according to CoinDesk. The exchange’s website terms also say it may charge a monthly dormant-account fee to cover costs associated with holding digital assets. That general terms language is separate from the specific fees and dates described in the customer emails.

Who Receives Notices Remains Unclear

The available reporting does not establish the full number of customers affected or provide a complete list of countries where accounts will be closed. Users in Spain, Italy and Poland reported receiving emails, while the report describes earlier contacts in France as well; individual reports on social media do not establish the full scope of the action.

It is also unclear whether Binance has secured authorization in an EU member state since the status reported on Nov. 7, or when it expects to do so. The company has not named the country where it plans to seek a license in the material provided. The notice’s treatment of assets left after Dec. 31 is described only as possible conversion or transfer, and details about timing, methods and customer options remain unspecified.

Withdrawal and Authorization Deadlines

For customers covered by the notices, the immediate dates are Nov. 29, when monthly charges are scheduled to begin, and Dec. 31, when affected accounts are due to close. Binance says withdrawals are still possible, but the report does not specify whether it will issue additional notices or change the timetable.

The next broader development to watch is Binance’s progress toward MiCA authorization and any further announcement about which EU services it can provide. Customers should rely on official account communications and Binance’s published terms for details of their own status; the report does not confirm that every European Binance user is subject to the same deadlines.

Key Questions

When do Binance’s reported fees begin?

The notices described by CoinDesk say monthly charges on remaining crypto balances begin Nov. 29, 2026. The fee is stated as 0.025% of the balance or 10 USDC, whichever is higher.

When are affected accounts scheduled to close?

Binance told CoinDesk that accounts covered by the restrictions will close on Dec. 31, 2026. The report does not establish that all European Binance accounts are affected.

Can customers still withdraw their funds?

Binance says deposits are blocked for affected users but withdrawals of crypto and fiat remain available. The company also said there is no sudden freeze.

Which countries have customers reported receiving notices in?

Customers in France, Spain, Italy and Poland have been reported as receiving notices. This is not confirmed as a complete list of affected countries or users.

Why is Binance restricting services in Europe?

Binance told CoinDesk the restrictions follow the end of the transition period under the EU’s MiCA rules, which require authorization in an EU member state to serve customers across the bloc. The report said Binance was not listed in ESMA’s register of authorized providers as of Nov. 7, 2026.

Source: coindesk.com

Nothing in this article is financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and precious-metal investments carry significant risk — do your own research and consider a licensed advisor.
You May Also Like

Bitcoindailyupdate Analysis: Pending Home Sales Experience Unexpected Fall – First in 5 Months!

You won’t believe the surprising dip in pending home sales—what does it mean for the future of the housing market? Discover the implications inside.

Explore the Best Crypto Purchases for February With Coinbase Exchange Now Available in the UK.

Discover the top crypto purchasing options on Coinbase UK for February 2026. Find the best picks for beginners, investors, and advanced traders today.

Could Dogecoin Hit Double Digits? Revisiting Its 2017 Sub-Cycle Surges

Just how high could Dogecoin climb again, and what historical patterns might influence its journey? Discover the surprising insights behind its potential resurgence.

Bitcoin Slides 50% From Peak as $6 Billion Exits ETFs

Bitcoin’s price has dropped 50% from its all-time high as ETFs exit holdings worth $6 billion, raising concerns about market stability and investor confidence.