Choosing a 240V PDU for mining rigs comes down to more than the outlet count: input plug, per-outlet rating, total circuit capacity, and monitoring all shape what you can safely connect. My strongest all-around match is the Metered Surge-Protected 30A PDU, because it combines C13 and C19 outlets, a meter, and surge protection. The Tripp Lite PDUH20HVL6 is the better fit when you want 14 outlets and flexible mounting, while the Valiant Power 1U stands out for its surge protection and three-year warranty.
Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Those strengths come with different limits. Some picks use an L6-30P input, while Tripp Lite uses L6-20P; outlet types and ratings also vary, and a 30A label does not mean every outlet can supply 30A. I compare the five options by how well their documented features suit mining-rig setups, with special attention to electrical compatibility and practical tradeoffs.
Key Takeaways
- Best feature balance: The Metered Surge-Protected 30A PDU has six C13 and two C19 outlets, plus a voltage/current meter and surge protection.
- Most outlets and mounting choices: Tripp Lite supplies 12 C13 and two C19 outlets and supports rack, wall, and under-counter mounting.
- Most useful monitoring in a basic layout: The Metered 1U Rack-Mount PDU shows real-time voltage and current across its eight C13 outlets.
- Warranty distinction: Valiant Power lists a three-year warranty; the surge-protected mixed-outlet model lists no warranty.
- Check the circuit before choosing: L6-30P and L6-20P inputs are not interchangeable, and each PDU’s limits must match the circuit, cabling, and connected equipment.
| Metered Surge-Protected Power Distribution Unit, 240V, 30A, 8 Outlets | ![]() | Best Overall for Mixed C13/C19 Connections | Voltage: 110–250V | Maximum current: 30A | Maximum power: 7200W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tripp Lite PDUH20HVL6 14-Outlet 208/240V Basic PDU | ![]() | Best for Outlet Count and Flexible Mounting | Input voltage: 208/240V | Input plug: NEMA L6-20P | Power capacity: 3.3/3.8kW | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Valiant Power 1U Rack-Mount PDU, 240V 30A, 6 Outlets, Surge Protection and Meter | ![]() | Best Warranty and Protection-Focused Pick | Voltage: 240V | Maximum current: 30A | Outlets: 6; output connector type not specified in supplied details | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Metered 1U Rack-Mount PDU, 30A, 8 C13 Outlets | ![]() | Best Simple Metered PDU for C13 Loads | Input voltage: 110–240V | Current: 30A | Listed wattage: 7200W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Metered Breaker PDU, 240V, 30A, 7200W, 6 C13 Outlets, Rack-Mountable | ![]() | Best Compact 30A C13 Option | Voltage: 240V | Amperage: 30A | Maximum power: 7200W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 240v pdu for mining rig | Outlets | Input plug | Voltage | Enclosure |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Metered Surge-Protected Power | 6 C13 rated 10A each; 2 C19 rated 16A each | NEMA L6-30P | 110–250V | — |
| Tripp Lite PDUH20HVL6 14-Outle | 12 C13 and 2 C19 | NEMA L6-20P | — | Rugged all-metal housing |
| Valiant Power 1U Rack-Mount PD | 6; output connector type not specified in supplied details | NEMA L6-30P | 240V | Aluminum, reversible housing |
| Metered 1U Rack-Mount PDU | 8 C13, rated 10A each | NEMA L6-30P | — | — |
| Metered Breaker PDU | 6 C13 | L6-30P | 240V | Metal |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Metered Surge-Protected Power Distribution Unit, 240V, 30A, 8 Outlets
This is my leading pick for a mining setup that needs both common server-style outlet types and useful status information. Its six C13 and two C19 outlets offer more connection flexibility than the all-C13 Metered 1U or the six-outlet Metered Breaker PDU. The built-in voltage/current meter and surge protection add two practical features in one rack-mount unit, rather than making the buyer choose between monitoring and outlet mix.
The stated maximum is 30A and 7200W, but the outlet ratings differ: C13 sockets are listed at 10A each and C19 sockets at 16A each. Those figures should not be read as permission to exceed the PDU’s total rating or the limits of a connected circuit. Compared with Valiant Power, this option adds two C19 outlets, while Valiant lists a substantially longer warranty. The key drawback here is the absence of a stated warranty; I would also check whether the particular rigs use C13 or C19 connections before buying.
Pros:- Combines six C13 and two C19 outlets
- Displays voltage and current
- Includes stated surge protection
- Comes with rack-mounting hardware and a 6-foot 10 AWG cable
Cons:- No warranty is listed
- C13 and C19 outlets have different stated current ratings
- Requires a compatible NEMA L6-30P supply connection
Best for: Mining-rig owners who need a rack PDU with both C13 and C19 outlets, metering, and surge protection.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require documented warranty coverage, a different input plug, or an outlet configuration that does not match the equipment.
- Voltage:110–250V
- Maximum current:30A
- Maximum power:7200W
- Outlets:6 C13 rated 10A each; 2 C19 rated 16A each
- Input plug:NEMA L6-30P
- Cable:6 ft, 10 AWG
- Features:Surge protection, voltage/current meter, on/off switch
- Warranty:Not listed
Our verdict“I rank it first for its useful combination of mixed outlets, metering, and surge protection, provided its input and outlet ratings suit the installation.”
Tripp Lite PDUH20HVL6 14-Outlet 208/240V Basic PDU
When a rack needs many connections and adaptable installation, Tripp Lite offers the broadest layout in this group: 12 C13 outlets and two C19 outlets. That is six more outlets than the overall pick and twice as many as either six-outlet model. It also supports 1U horizontal, 0U vertical, wall, and under-counter mounting, which gives it an advantage in a mining room where rack space or placement is constrained.
This is a basic PDU, not a metered or surge-protected model according to the supplied details. Its L6-20P input also differs from the L6-30P used by the other four options, so it should not be chosen just because the equipment runs at 240V. Its stated 3.3/3.8kW capacity is lower than the 7200W claims on the 30A models, making it a different capacity class as well. I would favor it for a suitable 208/240V circuit with a high outlet count, not as a substitute for a 30A PDU where that higher capacity is needed.
Pros:- Fourteen outlets, including C13 and C19 types
- Supports horizontal, vertical, wall, and under-counter mounting
- Includes a 15-foot power cord
- Rugged all-metal housing with a grounding lug
Cons:- Uses an L6-20P input rather than the L6-30P plug on the other listed units
- Stated power capacity is 3.3/3.8kW, below the 7200W 30A models
- No meter or surge protection is specified
Best for: Buyers with compatible 208/240V L6-20P power who need many C13/C19 outlets and more than one mounting option.
Not ideal for: Anyone needing a 30A L6-30P input, built-in metering, or stated surge protection.
- Input voltage:208/240V
- Input plug:NEMA L6-20P
- Power capacity:3.3/3.8kW
- Outlets:12 C13 and 2 C19
- Cord length:15 ft
- Mounting:1U horizontal, 0U vertical, wall, or under-counter
- Enclosure:Rugged all-metal housing
- Weight:5.86 lb
Our verdict“I would choose Tripp Lite for outlet density and mounting flexibility, not for the highest stated capacity or built-in monitoring.”
Valiant Power 1U Rack-Mount PDU, 240V 30A, 6 Outlets, Surge Protection and Meter
Valiant Power is the strongest choice for buyers who put surge protection, load monitoring, and warranty coverage ahead of a large outlet count. It lists voltage and amperage meters, a reversible metal housing, included rack hardware, and a three-year warranty—the longest stated coverage in this lineup. Compared with the overall pick, it gives up two outlets and the C19 connection option, but provides clearer warranty support than a model with none listed.
The six-outlet count makes this a more focused installation than Tripp Lite’s 14-outlet PDU. Its supplied details do not identify the outlet connector type or individual outlet current rating, so I would verify those points against the equipment before ordering; the L6-30P input alone does not answer what output cables are needed. The unit is also switchless, which avoids an extra control point but can frustrate anyone who wants a manual power switch on the PDU. For a compact rack where protection and warranty matter more than outlet density, those limits may be acceptable.
Pros:- Includes stated surge protection and voltage/amperage meters
- Three-year warranty is the longest listed here
- Reversible metal housing and rack hardware are included
- Six-outlet 1U format suits a compact rack
Cons:- Limited to six outlets
- Switchless design does not provide manual PDU power control
- Outlet connector type and per-outlet rating are not specified in the supplied details
Best for: Buyers who want a 1U 240V PDU with stated surge protection, voltage/current meters, and a longer warranty.
Not ideal for: Those who need more than six outlets, a manual switch, or confirmed C13/C19 output compatibility without further product verification.
- Voltage:240V
- Maximum current:30A
- Outlets:6; output connector type not specified in supplied details
- Input plug:NEMA L6-30P
- Rack size:19-inch, 1U
- Cable length:6 ft
- Enclosure:Aluminum, reversible housing
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“I recommend Valiant Power when warranty and protective features matter more than outlet count, after confirming its output connections suit the rigs.”
Metered 1U Rack-Mount PDU, 30A, 8 C13 Outlets
This model makes sense when every rig or connected device uses a C13 connection and the buyer wants a clear view of voltage and current. It provides eight C13 outlets and a real-time meter, while its horizontal or vertical rack mounting helps it fit into different rack layouts. Compared with Valiant Power, it supplies two more outlets; compared with the overall pick, it has an all-C13 layout but no stated surge protection or C19 sockets.
The per-outlet limit is an important qualifier: each C13 outlet is listed at 10A, even though the PDU is described as a 30A, 7200W unit. The total rating does not make any individual socket suitable for a device that exceeds its own limit. The included 6-foot 10 AWG cable and L6-30P input may suit a compatible installation, but they also mean this is not a universal plug-in choice. It is a straightforward monitoring pick, not the most protective or connector-flexible one.
Pros:- Shows voltage and current in real time
- Eight C13 outlets provide more connections than six-outlet alternatives
- Mounts horizontally or vertically
- Includes a 6-foot 10 AWG cable
Cons:- Each C13 outlet is rated at 10A
- No surge protection is specified
- Requires a compatible L6-30P power connection
Best for: Mining-rig owners whose equipment uses C13 connections and who want real-time voltage and current monitoring.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing C19 outlets, stated surge protection, or a device connection above the listed 10A C13 outlet rating.
- Input voltage:110–240V
- Current:30A
- Listed wattage:7200W
- Outlets:8 C13, rated 10A each
- Input plug:NEMA L6-30P
- Cable:6 ft, 10 AWG
- Mounting:1U rack-mountable, horizontal or vertical
- Meter:Real-time voltage and current display
Our verdict“I would pick it over the six-outlet models for a C13-only rack that needs metering, but not when C19 outputs or surge protection are priorities.”
Metered Breaker PDU, 240V, 30A, 7200W, 6 C13 Outlets, Rack-Mountable
The Metered Breaker PDU is the compact, stripped-back choice for a rack with a small number of C13-connected devices. Its six C13 outlets, real-time metering, and metal enclosure cover the basics, while the stated 240V, 30A, and 7200W ratings place it alongside the larger-capacity L6-30P models. At four pounds and a listed 19-inch rack form, it may suit buyers who do not need extra outlet capacity or multiple outlet types.
Its position below the eight-outlet Metered 1U reflects the smaller outlet count and less complete information, not a claim that the device is unsuitable. Unlike the Metered Surge-Protected PDU and Valiant Power, the supplied details do not mention surge protection. No per-outlet rating, cable length, or warranty is listed in the information provided, so I would verify those before planning a load or installation. Its name includes “breaker,” but I would not infer specific breaker behavior or protections beyond the documented features.
Pros:- Six C13 outlets for compatible equipment
- Metered power monitoring
- Metal enclosure in a 19-inch rack-mount format
- Listed 240V, 30A, and 7200W capacity
Cons:- Fewer outlets than the eight-outlet and 14-outlet alternatives
- Surge protection is not specified
- Cable length, per-outlet rating, and warranty are not provided
Best for: Buyers with a limited number of C13 devices who want a compact, metered 240V rack PDU.
Not ideal for: Those who need more outlets, C19 connections, documented surge protection, or fuller cable and outlet-rating details.
- Voltage:240V
- Amperage:30A
- Maximum power:7200W
- Outlets:6 C13
- Input plug:L6-30P
- Form factor:19-inch rack mount
- Enclosure:Metal
- Weight:4 lb
Our verdict“I see it as a compact C13-focused alternative, but buyers should confirm the missing outlet and cable details before relying on it for a rig layout.”

How We Picked
I ranked these units around the needs of a buyer distributing 208–240V power to mining rigs, rather than treating them as interchangeable rack accessories. I looked at the specified input voltage and plug, overall current and wattage claims, outlet count and type, and whether any per-outlet ratings were provided. These details help show which device connections the PDU can accommodate, but they do not replace checking the electrical requirements of the rigs or the branch circuit.
I also weighed features that can change day-to-day usefulness: voltage and current metering, surge protection, cable length, mounting options, construction, and warranty coverage. The mixed C13/C19 models rank well for connection flexibility; Tripp Lite ranks well for outlet count and mounting versatility. The single-type C13 units can still be sensible when the connected equipment matches their outlets, but their more limited outlet mix narrows their audience.
Where product details are absent, I do not fill in the gaps with assumptions. For example, an unspecified outlet rating is not proof of a particular per-outlet limit, and a listed maximum wattage is not permission to run a circuit continuously at that amount. My ranking reflects the supplied specifications only. A qualified electrician should confirm that the receptacle, breaker, wiring, plug, and load are compatible before installation.
| 240v pdu for mining rig | Input plug | Enclosure |
|---|---|---|
| Metered Surge-Protected Power | NEMA L6-30P | — |
| Tripp Lite PDUH20HVL6 14-Outle | NEMA L6-20P | Rugged all-metal housing |
| Valiant Power 1U Rack-Mount PD | NEMA L6-30P | Aluminum, reversible housing |
| Metered 1U Rack-Mount PDU | NEMA L6-30P | — |
| Metered Breaker PDU | L6-30P | Metal |
Factors to Consider When Choosing 240v Pdu For Mining Rigs
Before choosing among these five, I would match the PDU to the actual supply circuit and rig connectors, then compare monitoring, protection, and outlet capacity. A higher headline wattage cannot correct a plug mismatch or make an underspecified outlet safe for a load.
Match the input plug and circuit
Four of these products list an L6-30P input; the Tripp Lite lists an L6-20P. Those plugs correspond to different supply arrangements and are not interchangeable merely because both products can be used with 240V power. Check the receptacle, breaker, wiring, and PDU nameplate together, and have a qualified electrician confirm compatibility if you are unsure. Also distinguish a PDU’s maximum rating from the capacity available continuously on a particular circuit; follow applicable electrical code and manufacturer guidance.
Count outlets by type, not just total
A high outlet count is useful only if the connections fit your equipment. Tripp Lite leads with 14 mixed C13/C19 outlets, while the surge-protected 30A unit has six C13 and two C19. The Metered 1U has eight C13 outlets, and the two compact models list six outlets each. Check each rig’s power-supply inlet and the cable needed to connect it. If you need C19 outputs, the all-C13 models are not a direct match based on the supplied specifications.
Read per-outlet limits alongside the total rating
A PDU labeled 30A or 7200W does not mean every outlet can carry that amount. The Metered 1U specifies 10A per C13 outlet; the mixed-outlet surge-protected model lists 10A per C13 and 16A per C19. For Tripp Lite and the other two units, the supplied details do not establish per-outlet ratings. Compare each device’s input draw with its outlet limit and the PDU’s total limit, and leave suitable capacity margin rather than planning around a headline maximum alone.
Decide how much monitoring and protection you need
Real-time voltage and current meters appear on the Metered 1U, the mixed-outlet surge-protected PDU, Valiant Power, and the Metered Breaker PDU. Metering helps make electrical conditions visible, but it is not a replacement for correctly sized wiring or circuit protection. Stated surge protection is listed for the mixed-outlet model and Valiant Power; it is not specified for the other three. If surge protection is central to your decision, check the product documentation for its details and do not assume a model has it because it includes a meter or breaker in its name.
Compare rack fit, cable reach, and support
Mounting and cable length can decide whether an otherwise suitable PDU works in your space. Tripp Lite offers the broadest placement options and a 15-foot cord; the Metered 1U supports horizontal and vertical rack mounting, while the other listed rack models are 1U or 19-inch formats. Warranty information also separates these picks: Valiant Power lists three years, two products list one year, and no warranty is supplied for the mixed-outlet surge-protected model or the Metered Breaker PDU. Confirm dimensions and mounting hardware before installation.
Frequently Asked Questions
What should I check before connecting mining rigs to a 240V PDU?
I would check that the PDU’s input plug matches the receptacle and circuit, then confirm each rig’s connector, expected current draw, and the PDU’s per-outlet and total limits. Include the branch circuit, wiring, and applicable electrical rules in that check. If any part of the installation is uncertain, ask a qualified electrician to verify it before powering the rigs.
Does a 30A PDU provide 30A at every outlet?
No. The 30A figure describes the PDU’s stated maximum input current, not the rating of every socket. In this lineup, the Metered 1U lists its C13 outlets at 10A each, and the mixed-outlet surge-protected model lists 10A C13 and 16A C19 outlets. Check the specific outlet rating and the PDU’s total capacity against the connected load.
Which PDU in this comparison has the most outlets?
The Tripp Lite PDUH20HVL6 has the most, with 14 outlets: 12 C13 and two C19. Its higher count comes with a different input plug, an L6-20P, and a stated 3.3/3.8kW capacity rather than the 7200W claims on the 30A models. I would choose it for a compatible circuit and outlet-density needs, not simply because the total is largest.
Which options list surge protection?
The Metered Surge-Protected 30A PDU and Valiant Power list built-in surge protection. Valiant also lists a three-year warranty, while the mixed-outlet model has the more flexible C13/C19 combination. The other three products do not specify surge protection in the supplied details, so I would not assume that feature is present.
Is an L6-30P PDU compatible with an L6-20R receptacle?
Do not assume compatibility or use an improvised adapter. The L6-30P and L6-20R describe different plug and receptacle configurations, and a 30A PDU must be supplied by an appropriately rated circuit and wiring. Have an electrician confirm the installation and use only a connection approved for the equipment, circuit, and local electrical requirements.
Conclusion
My recommendations depend on the rack you are building. Choose the Metered Surge-Protected 30A PDU if you need C13 and C19 outlets with metering and stated surge protection. Pick the Tripp Lite PDUH20HVL6 for the most connections and flexible mounting when its L6-20P input and lower stated capacity fit your setup. The Valiant Power 1U is the warranty-focused choice; the Metered 1U suits a C13-only rack that needs eight outlets and a meter; and the Metered Breaker PDU is the compact option for six C13 devices.
Before buying, verify every connector, outlet rating, and circuit requirement against the mining rigs and installation. For 240V loads, a product name or headline wattage is not enough to establish compatibility. I would make that electrical check first, then use outlet count, monitoring, protection, and warranty to decide between the models.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.





